Committee details

Cheshire Fire Authority

Purpose of committee

The Fire Authority is made up of 23 elected Members appointed by Cheshire West and Chester (7), Cheshire East (9), Halton Borough Council (3) and Warrington Borough Council (4).

The Authority is a separate legal body, with the power to set council tax and to set its own policies and procedures, without seeking the approval of these local councils. The Fire Authority covers the four unitary areas of Cheshire East, Cheshire West and Chester, Halton and Warrington.  Each council sends a number of elected Members to serve on the Fire Authority.  As an Authority Member, councillors represent the whole of Cheshire and are not just required to act as the formal representatives of their own council.   The role of the Fire Authority is to:

  • set the Annual Budget;
  • agree the staff, vehicle and other resources needed to deliver an efficient service;
  • approve the Service's plans, policies and strategies;
  • approve the composition of the Committees, Sub-Committees, Advisory Groups and Task Groups of the Authority.



Contact information

Support officer: Donna Linton. Governance and Corporate Planning Manager

Postal address:
Cheshire Fire and Rescue Service Headquarters
Sadler Road

Phone: 07776297806